Sarah Manning

Sarah Manning

See Sarah’s Clients >>

Ready to Query Sarah?

Please review our submission guidelines.
Then email: manningqueries@thebentagency.com

Find Sarah on Twitter.

SEND ME
  • Commercial fiction
  • Women’s fiction
  • Literary fiction
  • Crime/thriller/mystery
  • Speculative fiction
  • YA
  • Memoir
  • Pop Culture
  • Humour
  • Cookbooks
DON’T SEND ME
  • Middle grade
  • Picture Books
  • Poetry
  • Self-help
  • Reference
  • Short stories

About Sarah

Based in the UK, I read History at Durham University and graduated with a first class honours degree. I then began my publishing career at the Orion Publishing Group in London, where I worked in nonfiction and fiction before going on to gain experience in script development for TV and film. I decided that as much as I loved the creative involvement of script development, I wanted to work specifically with books and moved into agenting; which turned out to be my dream job!

My taste is varied and I’m looking for commercial and accessible literary adult fiction, YA and nonfiction. I am really on the hunt for uplifting women’s fiction in the reading group space, such as Catherine Isaac’s YOU, ME, EVERYTHING or Gail Honeyman’s ELEANOR OLIPHANT. I’m also looking for a love story, whether that be something modern and high-concept like Zoe Folbigg’s THE NOTES and Beth O’Leary’s THE FLAT SHARE, or something more in the vein of Julie Cohen’s TOGETHER. I represent a range of thrillers and crime books full of twists and turns with interesting and vivid settings. Recently in this space I’ve loved ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL. In terms of nonfiction, I’m looking for memoir and narrative non-fiction as well as popular science and cookery. For YA, I’m particularly interested in contemporary stories in the vein of ONE OF US IS LYING and EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING.

Comments are closed.